TCI News

TCI Premier attends 31st CARICOM Inter-sessional Meeting in Barbados

#Barbados, February 19, 2020 — TCI Office of the Premier — The Premier Hon. Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson is currently attending the 31st Intersessional Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), from 18-19 February 2020 in Barbados.

Photo by Office of the Premier

During this meeting, Heads of Government will examine the status of implementation of the requirements of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) and are expected to have an engagement with representatives of the Region’s Private Sector, Labour and Civil Society.

Premier Robinson will be partaking in discussions about digital transformation in CARICOM and will work with other regional leaders on an action plan for the elimination of regional roaming charges.

Photo by the Office of the Premier

Today, February 18th was the first day of the two-day summit. On the agenda:
• CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME)
• Crime, violence and security issues between Belize and Guatemala, and Guyana and Venezuela
• CARICOM advocacy against blacklisting, de-risking and withdrawal of correspondent banking services
• Supporting CARICOM resilience and update on matters of importance for Science and Technology
• Health: Regional approach to Coronavirus and Non-communicable diseases

Photo by the Office of the Premier
Photo by Office of the Premier

The Caribbean Community has 15 member states – Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. It also has five associate members – Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Most Popular

To Top