TCI News

TCI: Washy, Calvin, Jay Morley and Bishop Coleta; new executive of Opposition PNP

#Providenciales, March 3, 2019 – Turks and Caicos – Resoundingly returned as leader of the Progressive National Party is Charles Washington Misick, and the choice is by vote not appointment despite expressed concern that it would be. 

The ‘elder statesmen’ as he is affectionately called by his party has not held this job, officially, for more than 15 years.

Misick, who is one of five elected Members of Parliament for the PNP in the Turks and Caicos House of Assembly, had been functioning as the Leader of Opposition business in parliament.  Tonight, he officially has the full title in a surprising but expected outcome.

Surprising, because C. Washington Misick had not entered the race during the nomination stage but was tonight congratulated as the new leader by a fellow candidate in the leadership race and his nephew, Donhue Gardiner.

“The race for Leader of the Progressive National Party is over and Hon C. W. Misick has won.  I wish him all the best and pledge him my support in the awesome task ahead,” said Gardiner in a concession release.

It is widely circulated on social media that Hon Washy secured 88 votes, far surpassing his nearest contender – Donhue Gardiner – who got 21 votes and Rev. John Malcolm, who secured 19 votes.

In the race for chairman, the winner is Calvin Green, a former customs officer who topped Shaun Malcolm for the position by seven votes; Malcolm – 63, Green – 70.

The deputy chairman was elected with 78 votes as Jay Morely, Gospel minister and recording artist; Kimberly Williams was also in the running for ‘dep-chair’ and managed to get 54 votes.

Chaplain for the party is Bishop Coleta Williams, who edged out Rev. John Malcolm by one vote with 67 of the delegates in support of Bishop Williams as the new spiritual leader of the PNP.

The elections happened late today during the business session of the National Congress of the PNP and results started flooding social media shortly after 8 p.m.

The party leader, according to the Progressive National Party constitution selects his or her own deputy.  There is no report on who that individual might be at this time.

There were no votes for George Lightbourne; the MP for Grand Turk North, who vowed to not attend the convention in protest.





Most Popular

To Top