Bahamas News

Bahamas Press Club 2014 to Hold Annual Media Awards on November 10th 2018

#Nassau, October 15, 2018 – Bahamas – During a press conference on October 13th at the British Colonial Hilton, the Bahamas Press Club 2014 announced it would honour persons who have made contributions to the journalism and media profession in the country, during its annual media awards ceremony.

Now in its fourth year, under the theme of: “Celebrating 75 years of Bahamian Media: 1973-2018”, the ceremony is scheduled to take place on Saturday, November 10th at the British Colonial Hilton. Doors will open to a stunning black tie event, as the finest in Bahamian media grace the Governor’s Ballroom to receive accolades for their hard work.

President of The Bahamas Press Club 2014, Anthony Capron, said this year the club has designed a commemorative pin that will reflect the years 1973-2018. This pin will be awarded to 10 selected persons who were employed in the media at the time of Bahamian independence on July 10, 1973.

“We will again recognize a media pioneer. The recipient is well known and relatively still a young man and today, he and his newspaper have made an indelible mark on Bahamian journalism. He is Mr. Ivan Johnson, publisher of The Punch,” said Capron.

Mr. Capron said The Bahamas Press Club 2014 for the second time, will present the Person of the Year Award. Attendees at the award show will experience the big reveal on the night of the event as this recipient is kept a secret until that very night.

“This person is chosen by the Press Club, said Capron. It is a person who has been a   perennial newsmaker over the course of the year (2018); and the news doesn’t always have to be good. Last year it was Prime Minister, the Hon. Hubert A. Minnis. When you hear the name and see the person at the banquet this year, you will all agree it is a well deserved honor.”

The recipient of The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Royal Fidelity, is veteran broadcaster, Sir Charles Carter. Sir Charles, who has had a stellar media career since 1964, expressed his gratitude for such an honour, which is the highest of the media awards.


Sir Charles said being in the media has inspired him and he likes what has happened to the country as it relates to being able to tell a story.

“Find in your work the trigger, the love, that makes you want to tell the stories of this country in such a way that you cause young people to have a better idea about this country,” Sir Charles said.

The Bahamas Press Club 2014 Media Awards cover a wide range of categories honoring working Journalists who are experts at their craft. The deadline for submission of nominees is October 17th 2018.

The other standing awards are:

PAHO/WHO Excellence in Health Promotion Award

The Bahamas Press Club Student Media/Journalism Award

Eric Wilmott Award for Investigative Journalism

Leon Turnquest Award for Sports Print Journalism

Phil Smith Outstanding Sports Broadcast Journalism Award

Bursell Bradshaw Press Photographer of the Year Award

Kenneth N. Francis Award for Newspaper Design and Composition

  1. Anthony White Columnist of the Year Award

Cyril Stevenson Outstanding Political Journalism Award

Best TV Documentary Award

Best TV News Story Award

Best Editing for TV News Story or Documentary Award

Website of the Year Award

Social Media Award

Best Cinematography

Best Video Editing Award

Best in Photography

Best Producer Award

Best Producer Award Package

Best Newscast Award


Additional awards this year include the People’s Choice Awards.  This segment will feature online poll voting where members of the public can vote for their favourites in each category.  The online polls open October 29th to November 8th.  The award categories are:

Best Radio Talk Show

Best Radio Talk Show Host

Best TV Talk Show

Best TV Talk Show Host

Best Radio Personality  (inclusive of DJs and Radio Announcers)


A panel of judges, representing a balanced mixture of expertise in journalism and mass communications, will adjudicate the submissions. They are: Quincy Parker, Duke Wells, Ray Munnings, Ed Bethel and Paul Turnquest.

The Bahamas Press Club 2014 is grateful to welcome IL Cares Foundation & Verizon Media Group as title sponsors.

Branding Manager for IL Cares Foundation and Verizon Media Group, Aneka Stewart, said both of the organizations she represents understand the important role the media plays in developing a progressive society.

“We believe it is essential to not only highlight the work of journalists and those professions who guard the fourth estate, but to also salute them for their tireless commitment and unwavering efforts,” said Stewart.

Mr. Capron said The Bahamas Press Club 2014 is delighted to acknowledge other key sponsors such as Aliv, Bahamas Stripping Group of Companies, as well as continuing sponsors including: The Broadcasting Corporation of the Bahamas (ZNS), The Tribune Newspaper, The Nassau Guardian, PAHO, Caribbean Bottling Company, Summit Insurance, and many others who would get proper recognition leading up to and on the night of the awards ceremony.

Tickets are $150 and will be available for purchase on October 21st 2018.



Header: The Bahamas Press Club 2014 will hold its Fourth Annual Media Awards on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at the British Colonial Hilton. A press conference was held Saturday, October 13 at the Hilton, during which executives outline the awards night’s programme.  Also introduced was the Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Recipient, former broadcaster Sir Charles Carter.  Sponsors pictured from right are Aneka Stewart, Brand Manager   IL Cares Foundation & Verizon Media Group, Title Sponsor of the Media Awards; Sasha Lightbourn, Aliv Media Champion; Anthony Capron, President, The Bhaamas Press Club 2014; and Tanya McFall, PAHO.

Insert: Former broadcaster and newspaper general manager Sir Charles Carter is the recipient of The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented at The Bahamas Press Club Media Awards ceremony on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at the British Colonial Hilton. A press conference was held Saturday, October 13, 2018 at the Hilton for the announcement. Pictured are Michael Anderson, president, Royal Fidelity, sponsor of The Etienne Dupuch Lifetime Achievement Award; Sir Charles, and Anthony Capron, President, The Bahamas Press Club 2018.




Most Popular

To Top