TCI News

TCI: Progressive National Party tentatively unveils 2020 election candidates

#Providenciales, September 17, 2019 – Turks and Caicos – At the very least, it is an interesting line up of new and old faces as the Opposition Progressive National Party gears up for the General Elections of 2020.

Three current Members of Parliament for the PNP are omitted from the prospective list, namely:  Hon George Lightbourne, Grand Turk North MP; Hon Porsha Smith, the Bight MP and Hon Ruth Blackman, South Caicos MP.

On Tuesday September 10, the PNP held in-house elections in five electoral districts.  Registered PNP delegates cast their ballots which shifted support from Lightbourne in Grand Turk North (ED 01) and Smith in the Bight (ED 06); both MPs lost the popular vote.

Hon Ruth Blackman is reportedly retiring from front line politics.

The PNP in the public statement it is explained that the final 15 candidates for the elections must still be ratified at the party’s National General Council; that NGC meeting will take place in October 2019 said the statement.

Running countrywide, in the All Island category for the PNP are:

C. Washington Misick – Party Leader

E. Jay Saunders – Party Deputy Leader

Josephine Connolly – Currently an All Island MP

Jamell Robinson

Shaun Malcolm

The Electoral Districts are also assigned:

ED 01 – Otis Morris

ED 02 – Pedro Ariza

ED 03 – John Malcolm

ED 04 – Arlington Musgrove

ED 05 – Akierra Missick

ED 06 – Matthew Jay Stubbs

ED 07 – Samuel Been

ED 08 – Randy Howell

ED 09 – Rachel Taylor

ED 10 – Dameko Dean



Most Popular

To Top