Bahamas News

BAHAMAS: Sports Hall of Fame 2018 Induction at Government House

#Nassau, November 27, 2018 – Bahamas – The Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture (MOYSC) inducted the 11 members of the 2018 National Sports Hall of Fame at an Official Ceremony held at Government House, on November 23, 2018.

Among those taking part in the Ceremony were Governor General Her Excellency the Most Hon. Dame Marguerite Pindling; Acting Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture and Minister of Social Services the Hon. Frankie Campbell; MOYSC Acting Permanent Secretary Rhoda Jackson; Acting Deputy Permanent Secretary K. Darron Turnquest; Director of Sports Timothy Munnings and The Bahamas Olympic Committee Secretary General Derron Donaldson.  Also among the family members and well-wishers in the audience were a number of Bahamian sports legends — including Sports Ambassador Mark Knowles — and past inductees into the Hall of Fame.

The 2018 Class members are as follows: Agatha Delancy and Harcourt ‘Coins’ Poitier for golf; Cornel ‘Mickey ‘ Williams for lawn tennis; Samuel ‘Sammie’ Symonette – bowling; William ‘Sonny Boy’ Rahming – boxing; Creswell Pratt – baseball; Charles ‘Softly’ Robins and Peter ‘Macaroni’ Gilcud – basketball; Edmund Lewis – cricket and, posthumously, Arthur Thompson Sr., for umpiring and Jennifer ‘Jann ‘ Mortimer for volleyball.


(BIS Photos / Eric Rose)

Release: BIS

Most Popular

To Top