TCI: Excellence on Full Display at 10th Annual Star Awards

#TurksandCaicos, March 2, 2018 – Providenciales – It was a night of glamour, where fine food and exciting entertainment accompanied accolades bestowed on those recognised for excellence in tourism, at the 10th Annual Star Awards, held at the Croquet Lawn at The Palms Turks & Caicos, on Saturday night.  Turks & Caicos Hotel and Tourism Association (TCHTA) members and the wider TCI community gathered in anticipation and excitement to see which employees and organisations would walk away with the coveted nineteen awards,  symbolising the winners’ dedication, hard work and commitment to the destination’s leading industry. Hosted by the charismatic Mr. K Darron Turnquest, Principal/Clinical Director—Key Potential Counseling & Training Center, Bahamas and motivational speaker, the formalities got underway with entertainment from the We Funk Junkanoo Band; cultural performance by Mr. David Bowen and a local dance troupe; and music by Prime DJs.

At the end of a fabulous ceremony, 21 tourism entities and individuals were recognised for their outstanding contribution to the industry:

The 2017 Star Awards Winners

  1. Fan Favourite – Giovanni Solon, The Somerset
  2. Hospitality Hero – Brenton Williams, Immigration Department
  3. Chef of the Year – Gwendolyn Forbes, COMO Parrot Cay
  4. Supervisor of the Year – Nandana Kandabadage, Seven Stars Resort & Spa
  5. Manager of the Year – Lindy Rigby, Grace Bay Club
  6. Heart of Hospitality – Melis St. Juste, The Palms Turks & Caicos
  7. Housekeeper of the Year – Jacquecina Luna-Hinson, Grace Bay Club
  8. Employee of the Year – Megan Jolly, Seven Stars Resort & Spa
  9. Executive Chef of the Year – Colin Watson, Beaches Resort Villages & Spa
  10. Bartender of the Year – Jermaine Simpson, The Shore Club TCI
  11. Ambassador of the Year – Carol Seymour, The Palms Turks & Caicos
  12. TCHTA’s Shining Star – Tanya Swann, Beaches Resort Villages & Spa
  13. Taxi Driver of the Year – Cameron Wilson
  14. Hotel of the Year – West Bay Club
  15. Hotelier of the Year – Aleisa Musgrove Goddard, The Regent Grand
  16. Restaurant of the Year – Seven Restaurant
  17. Entertainer of the Year – Chrystal “TESS” Charles
  18. Allied Member of the Year –  (a) FortisTCI & (b)Graceway IGA/Grace Bay Car Rentals
  19. Allied Member Restaurant of the Year – Mango Reef Restaurant


In her remarks to patrons, Mrs. Stacy Cox, the TCHTA’s CEO stated, “As we celebrate 10 years of star excellence in hospitality, I am elated to witness how the annual Star Awards has grown in stature and is eagerly anticipated by many in the industry.  Over the years, more and more players have come to recognize the importance of the awards and have joined in celebrating the stellar service and efforts of our amazing nominees – all industry leaders and trendsetters.”

Mrs. Cox added, “The Star Awards is our way of giving a huge high-five to the chefs, housekeepers, customer service representatives, managers, resorts, restaurants, suppliers, and everyone else doing an absolutely amazing job in hospitality.”

The TCHTA also extended special thanks to Corporate TCI for supporting the event, ensuring that every winner walked away with a trophy and prize. Sponsors of the 10th Annual Star Awards were: The Palms Turks & Caicos, Gilley’s Enterprises, Carnival Corporation & PLC., Graceway IGA Supermarket, Caicos Express Airways, FortisTCI, Do It Center, Lew 1 Shipping Ltd., The Shore Club, CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank, KPMG, Seven Stars Resort & Spa, AIB Hotel and Restaurant Supplies, The Turks & Caicos Sun, Digicel, Turks & Caicos Islands Ministry of Tourism, CSC Insurance Brokers, The Hartling Group, FedEx, The Sands at Grace Bay, Turks & Caicos Islands Airports Authority, Turks & Caicos Weekly News, Southwest Airlines.


Release: TCHTA


Most Popular

To Top